Social Media Assignment

While it does seem to be taking a bit of time to slowly build my audience I feel like I am meeting my goal for the social media assignment. Going into this assignment I think that my thoughts were that I would be gaining a readership in no time. But to my dismay I found that total opposite. I didn’t find people falling head over heels for my pieces and I had to advertise my stories to get people to read them.  Doing this assignment has shown me that I do need to work a lot harder to get an audience.

Before the assignment I had a person twitter account, so coming in I had a bit of a bias. I wasn’t sure how to make a Facebook page and I didn’t know that sites like Quora, WordPress, and LinkedIn existed. But after trying all of the sites I have grown an extreme liking to Twitter. Quora and LinkedIn seemed to be a bit awkward for me to run. I attempted to answer questions on Quora but I really didn’t see any results come from those articles and I really don’t know what to do with my LinkedIn. My Facebook page seemed to, at first, be a favorite. But while people were liking my page I really didn’t get much feedback from those who “liked” it.

The relationship I have with WordPress seems to fall under the love-hate category. At the beginning I wasn’t to sure about the site. I found it difficult and irritating. I actually forgot I had a WordPress at one point in time. But after coming back to it and testing buttons out I would like to say that WordPress is slowly gaining my trust. The traffic to my site is very slow. My WordPress is still a work-in-progress. I have yet to figure what all the cool looking buttons do.

My Twitter account is up and I’ve seen that my audience is slowly starting to head towards the music industry. I have a couple of followers that are new bands but of course, I have those random spam accounts that everyone gets.

About themarycastro

Journalism student at Florida Gulf Coast University. I'm hoping to find blogs that will not only look at my work but also critique. I have a Twitter account that is dedicated to music and my work. Check it out. Links are at the top of my blog.

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

  2. Thank you! I really appreciate the compliment.

Leave a Reply

