Lupe Fiasco: Music Saves

I was recently re-introduced to the rapper Lupe Fiasco by one of my friends. Not really having much patience for the Hip Hop genre and its derogatory language towards women, I listen to the song  “Hip-Hop Saved My Life” with huge skepticism. But to my surprise I fell in love with this song. What caught my attention wasn’t Fiasco’s appearance, while it was a change from all the 50 cent that seemed to pop up, but the lyrics.

The song describes the struggles of an aspiring rapper who grew up in the ghetto. Yes, I know, this sounds like every other rap song that aims for the “if I can get out of the ghetto so can you” message. But there was one particular lyric that caught my attention. “I feel like murder but hip hop you saved me.” This, to me, speaks loads.  Instead of showing his fans all of the “ice” he has and how many bitches he can get Fiasco reaches out to his fans in the most intimate of ways. He shows that music has saved him. And I’m sure that not only Fiasco’s fans but everyone can relate to this.

So what’s the point of this post? Well it’s to show how amazing music is. There are so many cases that I’ve heard where a song, a band, or a rap artist has helped someone get through a rough time. There have also been stories of that music artist saving people.

Now, I’ve heard it all. I’ve been criticized for believing that music has a healing power for the human spirit. But really who are we to judge the love a fan has for their favorite music artist? Were we there when that person was dealing with a death? Were we there when they were drowning in depression? No. We weren’t. So why downplay something that seems so beautiful?

I mean. we’ve all been there.  We’ve all gone through an immense love for a music artists. We’ve all gone to concerts and screamed our lungs out to lyrics that mean the world to us.  And this is what “Hip Hop Saved My Life” signifies. It shows fans that there is always hope. That no matter how hard life seems to get all you have to do is plug in your earphones, turn up the music and tune out the world.

Video of “Hip-Hop Saved My Life”- vPiKKfcjI-4

About themarycastro

Journalism student at Florida Gulf Coast University. I'm hoping to find blogs that will not only look at my work but also critique. I have a Twitter account that is dedicated to music and my work. Check it out. Links are at the top of my blog.

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Everyday Obesrvations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

